CMU Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra

Sun. Jan 26, 2014 at 7:30pm EST
All Ages
Price: $5.00
All Ages
  • Get Tickets
  • Details
  • Comments
Event Stats
Price: $5.00
All Ages
Event Description
CMU Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra


Carnegie Mellon University Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra
Andrés Cárdenes, Artistic Director of Orchestral Studies
Ian Hobson, conductor and piano 


Under the direction of guest conductor Ian Hobson, the Carnegie Mellon Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra will perform Ravel's Tombeau de Couperin, Mozart's Concerto in A Major, K 488, featuring Mr. Hobson on piano, and Beethoven's Symphony No. 1 in C Major.


$5 general admission. All students, along with CMU faculty and staff, are free w/ valid ID at the door. Tweet Seats available.


Ravel's Tombeau de Couperin
Mozart's Concerto in A Major, K 488
Beethoven's Symphony No. 1 in C Major


Tweet Seats refer to seats in which tweeting is permitted during a performance by audience members. Carnegie Mellon School of Music is launching this new pilot project to encourage a subsection of our audience to engage in an online discussion about the performance they are experiencing. We ask that Tweet Seat participants sit in the second balcony of Carnegie Music Hall with their phones silenced and dim back-light to lowest setting. Additionally, participates who are not able to join us at the hall can watch the webcast (Channel 2) of the performance.

Utilizing the has tag #CMUHobson, participants will engage in an online conversation with School of Music faculty member Lance LaDuke who will be leading the discussion from @CMUMusic. Feel free to tweet reactions to the performance or ask questions. You can follow or join the conversation here.


Mr. Hobson is a musician of tremendous versatility who has earned an international reputation as a pianist, conductor, and educator. During the last several years, engagements have included appearances at Alice Tully Hall and at New York's Mostly Mozart Festival. He has performed recitals in the U.S., England, and Italy. Mr. Silverstein performed the Piano Concerto of Henry Holden Huss at Carnegie Hall with the American Composers Orchestra and the Concerto for Piano of Clara Schumann on Great Performers at Lincoln Center.

Select Tickets
Sorry, this event has already taken place.
Venue Details
Map of Venue Location.
Carnegie Music Hall 4400 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15213