Tickets for CMU Philharmonic in Pittsburgh from ShowClix

CMU Philharmonic

Wed. Mar 5, 2014 at 8:00pm EST
Price: $5.00
All Ages
  • Get Tickets
  • Details
  • Comments
Event Stats
Price: $5.00
All Ages
Event Description
CMU Philharmonic


Carnegie Mellon University Philharmonic
Andrés Cárdenes, Artistic Director of Orchestral Studies 


Guy Bordo and Daniel Nesta Curtis, conductors


The Student Composers Concert will feature original works composed for orchestra by School of Music students and conducted by Daniel Nesta Curtis and Guy Bordo. Next Wednesday, the Philharmonic will world premiere six original compositions. Each piece demonstrates a wide range of compositional perspectives and styles that are as diverse as the composers themselves - Sean Michael Salamon (Long Valley, New Jersey), Jorge Sastre (Spain), Sin Young Park (South Korea), Hayden Yoo (South Korea), Edward Witt (Pittsburgh, PA), and Erberk Eryilmaz (Turkey). 

Conductor Guy Bordo is the Director of Orchestras at the University of Akron School of Music. Along with violinists Alan Bodman and Amy Barlowe, Dr. Bordo founded Akron Baroque, a professional ensemble including members of the Akron and Canton Symphony Orchestras. Joining Bordo at the podium will be Daniel Nesta Curtis. Curtis was named music director of the Contemporary Ensemble at Carnegie Mellon University in 2012 and has served as the assistant conductor of the Brooklyn Philharmonic in Brooklyn, NY since 2011.

All students, along with CMU faculty and staff, are free w/ valid ID.

REPERTOIRE (Six world premieres):

Sean Michael SalamonFugue, Waltz, Canon
Jorge Sastre: Oscura luz (Obscure light)
Sin Young ParkUn Homme Qui est Devenu une Ètoile
Hayden YooSuspicion
Edward WittInfinitas for orchestra
Erberk EryilmazTepki 2 “fikri hür, vicdan? hür, irfan? hür” (Reaction 2 "free thought, free conscience, free knowledge"
Select Tickets
Sorry, this event has already taken place.
Venue Details
Carnegie Music Hall 4400 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
View Everyone
Who's Going?

Name Not

Name Not

Name Not

Name Not

Name Not